top of page

Happy Valentine's Day!

Updated: Feb 27, 2023





“Experts on romance say for a happy marriage there has to be more than a passionate love. For a lasting union, they insist, there must be a genuine liking for each other. Which, in my book, is a good definition for friendship.” Marilyn Monroe “Friends accept you the way you are.” Marilyn Monroe


My wish is for no one to be sad or lonely on Valentine’s Day. While I cannot make that true, what I know is when you know and love yourself, loneliness won’t waste it’s time on you. As we enter the coldest month of the year, so many need what you have to offer. There are still so many ways to help others, from cooking meals to packing food to finding resources to keep our small business afloat. Your gifts and talents are needed. So, DO Something for Others, while you work on being the best you. It is old, and its been said it many times before, but it takes time, work, patience and faith to get to a space where you are comfortable and happy with you – ALL the Time!


I am still listening and paying attention, today, right now. I hope you are as well.

I used the two quotes above because this information cannot be stressed enough. No matter how much fire, passion and mind-blowing sex is involved, the bottom line is you must like YOURSELF and Your Partner!

It is a requirement. It is both the foundation and backbone of every lasting relationship. It is why my exes still call me. They consider me a friend. Yes, I am opinionated, but I don’t lie to them. I am bossy, but most women are. I am also a Boss – I run my own game and my own time.


I can dress up, but leave that to the girly girls. The men I attract can see past all the stuff I leave off and I usually find some pretty deep men. As I waited, it wasn’t always patiently, but wait I did. My faith and patience paid off and yours will as well.


As you work on yourself, the light you shine can be seen, by those willing to take the time to see. It is so important to understand, while not everyone is for everybody, there is somebody for everyone. It is up to us to be ready to meet the moment!


Let’s talk about the merit of friendship. Marriage is the only relationship that brings out the best and the worst in both partners. The worst lasts far longer in many cases. What keeps you from cutting that man (or woman’s) throat is Friendship. Given many deep breaths, a few shots of rum (because tequila makes me fight) and some chocolate, I can let most things go, ONLY if I actually like your ass.


Trust me, the few men that I did not take time to develop a friendship with headed for the hills at the first opportunity after a fight. No one wants to be in the room or house with me when the blistering verbal attack begins. The attack I only unleashed on those I truly don’t like.


I hope you can learn from my mistakes. Trust, I have said some pretty hateful things. For some reason, other people seem to remember every word. Yet, I don’t remember any of those arguments.

This applies to family as well. I am sure I am not the only person who has family that are not friends. The damage is worse when it is family because what I've said pops up at the most inopportune times.


Many of my writings stress being the best you possible. You don’t want to waste years of work improving yourself by allowing a bad choice of a mate destroy all you’ve worked so hard for, do you? Why allow someone who wasn’t’ worth your time before the relationship tear down the glorious you - you have become? Do right by yourself and for yourself. Be friends, first!


Enjoy your Valentine’s day lovely one. Take your time, do what YOU want! Call the shots!

May all your friendships endure for many seasons!

Thanks for reading!

About Me

me 2.jpg

#MermaidLife

Posts Archive

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page